So-ho-ho, I know that when I hear the word “craft,” I often think of fun or pretty objects that are sweet to own, but don’t necessarily have much function for your daily life.  Au contraire! My mission today is to find an assortment of crafty goods that can be put to regular use, but are far from mundane.

Ok, let me start with something so totally obvious. No one goes through the day without eating at least once. I regularly have not two or three, but sometimes five good meals a day – yes, I’m an eater…

So here’s a cute, functional, eco-friendly, AND budget-friendly way to jazz up your meal. One might, perhaps use one of these adorable little lemons and polka dots cloth napkins to wipe one’s mouth with:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/57642273/napkin-set-of-6-lemons-and-polka-dots?ref=sr_list_11&ga_search_query=napkins&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_page=&order=&includes[0]=tags&includes[1]=title&filter[0]=handmade

I adore cloth napkins because they cut down on waste and make you feel a little bit fancy when you set them on the table. Another fun budget friendly way to find these babies is to check out your local thriftstore. Lots of vintage goodies come through one of my local favorites. I snap them up for 25 cents, dye them or bleach them, and toss them in the drawer with friends. I like mine to mix and match, but if you favor a matching set, check out the many Etsy sellers that make cute, fun, cloth napkins.

Eating your lunch on the go? Try one of these cute lunch bags:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/62650649/ollie-eco-friendly-insulated-lunch-bag?ref=sr_list_11&ga_search_query=lunch+bags&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_page=2&order=&includes[0]=tags&includes[1]=title&filter[0]=handmade

Or these re-usable,sandwich bags:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/65400635/pink-urban-zoologie-owls-reusable-eco

Ok, now that you’ve got your eatin’ done, what else can you do with your daily crafts? Well, if you’re like me, you likely run to the grocery store on a daily basis (what can I say? I’m an eater). Of course, most people are getting on board now with the grocery/market tote. Most stores have them for $1 at checkout to guilt you into not using plastic or paper. If you have not joined the tote bandwagon, check out this cute one:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/59997006/reusable-bag-i-heart-trees-comes-in

If you have joined the bandwagon and are looking for something else cool to one-up your eco-er-than-thou friends, yeah, you know who I’m talkin’ about, try to think inside the cart by using one of these cute produce bags:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/52965323/4-large-reusable-produce-bags-in-egg?ref=sr_list_2&ga_search_query=produce+bags&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_page=&order=&includes[0]=tags&includes[1]=title&filter[0]=handmade

Then you can stop feeling guilty about bringing your produce home in those little plastic bags. And it’s a better solution than (like Yours Truly does)  just trying to toss all your bagless produce into the shopping cart. *Warning: This may irk cashiers if you have >5 fruits or veggies.

Got any more ideas for crafts to live with? Let me know!

